Never hold back. You never know how far you can go.

So as I mentioned earlier, I made it my goal to visit all the Utah national parks and monuments this year to photograph them.  It was awesome, amazing, blah blah blah.  Believe me, I have whole posts planned about each park, I’ll keep it short here since I will spend pages on it later.

Anyway a lot of the parks handed out little cards requesting photos to be entered in their Official Federal Lands Photo Contest.  Any picture taken on US federal recreation land in the last 2 years, it’s open to everybody as long as they’re non-professionals.

I figured “What the heck, why not submit all I can to flood the system and have a chance at winning?”  You can do 2 pics a week, and even though it’s the end of the year I can still get 6-8 in.  Maybe 1 will have a chance at more than a second glance.

One of my pics from my first two submissions won the weekly prize (a free annual park pass) and is automatically entered in the final competition.

Part of this is to toot my own horn (My picture was noticed by the official Parks system!!! My summer has been justified!).  But my main point was that you shouldn’t hold back, you never know how far you can go if you just put your best foot forward.

Fruita Barn
Fruita Barn
Leave a Reply

