Rough edit of this weekend’s photo project: Sunset in North Window Arch

This is the rough edit of the picture I wanted to take this weekend, 4 arches and the sun.  This is a single exposure of a 5 shot bracket so I’m hoping to get better definition in the highs and lows of the image but I’m too tired tonight.

I was hoping the sun would set on Turret arch itself but I was pretty sure it would be too far to the right.  Even on the Winter Solstice I don’t think it would move too much further south.  I think the best you would get is it setting in the lump of rock on Turret Arch’s right, not through the arch like I imagined.  I spent the last couple months of time planning and calculating to see how things would line up, I knew the window (lol!) for lining it up would be just a week or 2 before and after the winter solstice.  I’ll try to write up a technical description of what went into planing for this soon (I hope).

Rough edit of North South Turret shot.
Rough edit of North South Turret shot.
2 thoughts on “Rough edit of this weekend’s photo project: Sunset in North Window Arch”

  1. Great shot!

    I feel a bit of extra highlights, and perhaps some fill light for the foreground would work very nicely.

    I do very much enjoy the depth of this shot! Nice planning and great work!

    Like

    1. That’s exactly what I’m hoping to pull from blending in the multiple exposures. Lightroom’s “Highlights” and “shadows” sliders can do a lot but usually the shadows are so grainy it can really draw attention to itself. If anything the HDR of the shot will look similar but maintain more detail in the shadows at full magnification.

      Like

Leave a Reply

